dataset : LBA Regional Boundary for the Legal Amazon of Brazil, 8-km

Oak Ridge National Laboratory Distributed Active Archive Center DAAC


LBA Regional Boundary for the Legal Amazon of Brazil, 8-km

ABSTRACT: The Legal Amazon of Brazil is defined by law to include the states of Acre, Amapá, Amazonas, Pará, Rondônia, Roraima, Mato Grosso, Maranhão, and Tocantins [Fundãcao Instituto Brasileiro de Geografia e Estatística (IBGE) 1991]. This is the definition used in generating the Legal Amazon mask. The 8-km Legal Amazon mask was generated by Christopher Potter at the Ecosystem Science and Technology Branch of the Earth Science Division at NASA Ames Research Center (Potter and Brooks-Genovese 1999). The mask was generated from the Digital Chart of the World available from Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc. (ESRI). The mask is available in ASCII GRID format. The README file accompanying the mask has more information regarding data format. More information can be found at

Identified by : lba_legal_amazon

This dataset was released on January 01, 2003.

The time range for this dataset is January 01, 1991 to December 31, 1999.

The spatial range for this dataset is -34° to 6.02° latitude, and -80° to -34.035° longitude. map (center)

DOI : 10.3334/ORNLDAAC/671
Also known as :
You are viewing /dataset/nasa-ornldaac-671 in HTML

Alternatives : JSON YAML Turtle N-Triples JSON Triples RDF+XML RDF+JSON Graphviz SVG